Harmony Between the Father and Son

Isn’t there such a wonderful harmony in the way God portrays Himself to us, and what He expects of us.
Jesus came to bear witness of the Father.
John 1:14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.
John 1:18 No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.


God’s glory is the divine light that surrounds Him, but that light’s source is God’s character. When Moses asked to see God’s glory, God revealed to Moses His character, and declared to Moses His name. “The Lord God, gracious and merciful, longsuffering, and full of goodness and truth….” (Exodus 34:6)
Jesus came to declare that glory to man.

John 12:44 ¶  Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.
45  And he that seeth me seeth him that sent me.
..
...49 For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.
50  And I know that his commandment is life everlasting: whatsoever I speak therefore, even as the Father said unto me, so I speak.
John 17:6 ¶ I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.
John 14:9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Shew us the Father? 10 Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.

John 14:13 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

Jesus came to glorify the Father. He did that by doing the works of the Father. The Father’s character was perfectly expressed through His Son. Jesus came to reveal God’s character to a race that had lost any true idea of what God was like, and Who He was. Lost in a maze of idolatry and pagan superstition, the world by and large placed upon their gods the attributes of men and women, and more importantly, fallen sinful wicked men and women. And the plethora of  immoral, violent, selfish, pleasure loving gods were mere reflections of the characters of their creators. And even the Caesars who demanded the worship and fidelity of their subjects were no better. Man had no-one to look up to, no-one  who they could aspire to or emulate that could lift them above the sin-sick rotten culture that permeated the world of the Roman Empire. Until Jesus. Jesus came to correct the deceptions and lies that Satan had beguiled the world with and expose him for the fraud and murderer he was. Jesus came to proclaim that God is love. Jesus came to proclaim that God is not the wrathful, vengeful, hate-filled god that the Romans had painted of their myriad false idols, nor was God the immoral, profligate, hedonist that the Greeks had drawn. The God of the Jews was holy. He was just. But most of all, He was love. Jesus declared that love, He showed that love, and He demonstrated that love everywhere to and to everyone. Jesus’ whole delight was to do His Father’s will, to keep His commandments, and to reveal to the world His Father’s true nature. To reveal how God really felt toward man, even in his fallen condition. Jesus demonstrated His own selflessness  and His own love for us and the Father by refusing even to death, to promote Himself in any way, to act in any way that glorified or exalted Himself. His whole mission and life call was to glorify the Father.

The Holy Spirit in turn continued to accomplish that purpose by instilling within us the image of Christ, that the Father may continue to be glorified.

John 16:7 ¶  Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you.
8  And when he is come, he will reprove the world of sin, and of righteousness, and of judgment:
9  Of sin, because they believe not on me;
10  Of righteousness, because I go to my Father, and ye see me no more;
11  Of judgment, because the prince of this world is judged.

12  I have yet many things to say unto you, but ye cannot bear them now.

13  Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, that shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.
14  He shall glorify me: for he shall receive of mine, and shall shew it unto you.
15  All things that the Father hath are mine: therefore said I, that he shall take of mine, and shall shew it unto you.

Romans 8:9 But ye are not in the flesh, but in the Spirit, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his.
10 ¶ And if Christ be in you, the body is dead because of sin; but the Spirit is life because of righteousness….14 For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, they are the sons of God.
15 For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.
16 The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God:
17 ¶ And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together….29 ¶ For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

 

Galatians 4:6 And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father.
7 Wherefore thou art no more a servant, but a son; and if a son, then an heir of God through Christ.

 


As Jesus spoke the words of the Father, the Holy Spirit reminds us of the words of Jesus. All things that Jesus inherited as the rightful and only heir; the only begotten Son; He then shares with us through His Spirit that dwells within us.
John 15:9 As the Father hath loved me, so have I loved you: continue ye in my love.
John 15:10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father‘s commandments, and abide in his love.
It was by keeping God’s commandments that Jesus glorified the Father. His love for man gave glory to God.

John 15:8 Herein is my Father glorified, that ye bear much fruit; so shall ye be my disciples.

We glorify God also through our character. It is the image of Jesus being revealed in us through the fruit of the Spirit that the Father is glorified. It is by our obedience to the commandments of God, by our love for Him and each other, that God is glorified.

So Jesus’ selfless expression of love glorified the Father.
The Holy Spirit’s selfless expression of love continues to glorify the Father, through Jesus.
Our selfless expression of love through the power of the Holy Spirit glorifies God. There is absolutely no selfishness in God, and His Spirit and power in us transforms us into the same image from glory to glory. (2 Cor. 3:18) This is the essence and foundation of God’s government in the universe. And Jesus died for the sole purpose of restoring selfish and sinful mankind back to the place where he once was. Free from the dominion of sin, free to once again worship selflessly and love as He loved, free to glorify God. In Revelation 14:6-12 we can read the final message of the gospel to be preached immediately prior to the second coming. “Fear God and give glory to Him, for the hour of his judgment is come: and worship Him that made heaven, and earth, and the sea, and the fountains of waters.”
And in verse 12, we see that the people who preach this message are noted for keeping God’s commandments. Just like Jesus. They bear His image, and having been imbued with the mind of Christ through the Spirit of Christ,  even their faith is the same faith as Jesus. In a nutshell, that is the purpose of the ministry of the Holy Spirit of Christ. To dwell within us that He may give to us freely of His own divine nature and we may become joint-heirs to the kingdom of God as adopted children with equal rights and privileges as the only Son. What grace! What love!!!

Leave a Reply

